Class of 2013 gather for awards

Students from the Class of 2013 were welcomed back to College to collect some special awards. Each year, we celebrate the outstanding achievements from our students and enjoy reminiscing about their time at Alton.

The evening started with a welcome from Ian Gibson, Chair of Governors, and Jane Machell, our Principal. Jane then introduced guest speaker Clare McAvinchey, a former Alton College student who now works as a Policy Advisor in the Prime Minister's No 10 Policy Unit. Clare's speech was inspiring as she told her story of life since leaving Alton just 7 years ago. Upon graduating from Durham University in 2009, she spent 6 months working for the United Nations in Kosovo. She later gained a place on the Civil Service Graduate Fast Stream and has worked tirelessly to get to where she now is.

Awards were then presented to the following:

Governors' Award for Outstanding Achievement

Heath Townsend, nominated by Graham Knight

Oliver Martin, nominated by Dan Mar-Molinero

Olli Martin receives Governors award

James Lowe, nominated by Dave Lynch

India Culley, nominated by Nicola Maxfield

Leadership Award

Yegor Ryazanov, nominated by Gavin Scrase

Ian Buchan Friendship Award

Fritha West, nominated by a student

SHG Mediation Services Award for Excellence in the Arts

Jess Holland, nominated by Dan Mar-Molinero

Erin Shee award for a significant contribution to Sport Enrichment

Richard Eastwick, nominated by Jo Green

Harry Marshall Film Award

Emma Purcell, nominated by Barbara Murray

Joke Elson Award (Adult Student)

Alyssa Havko, nominated by Linda Davies

Alyssa Havko receives Joke Elson award

Congratulations to all award winners and their peers in the Alton College Class of 2013.