Outstanding Awards

Exceptional student successes were celebrated at Alton College’s annual Outstanding Awards presentation event in December. The awards are given for a range of achievements from academic to friendship and leadership. The ceremony was held on campus and attended by the recipients and their parents, and were presented by Jane Machell, Principal, sponsors and governors.

One set of awards, the Governors’ Awards for Outstanding Achievement is given to students who have either achieved high grades at the end of their course, demonstrated outstanding personal development or have enhanced the reputation of the College in some way. This year, they were awarded to:-

Celine Chen, formerly Fuxing Senior School, Shanghai
Rebecca Nicholson, Treloar College
Elizabeth Eyers, formerly Woking High School
Lara Heitsch, formerly The Petersfield School
Harry Coloe, formerly Salesian College

The Alton College Award for Leadership, presented to a student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership was awarded to BTEC Public Services student Michael Penn, formerly Farnham Heath End School.

Thomas Bason, formerly Ditcham Park School, was presented with the Ian Buchan Friendship Award, an award set up by the parents of Ian Buchan in his memory to give to a student who has been a particularly good friend to another student.

The SHG Mediation Services Award for Excellence in the Arts was won by music student Freddie Hodkin, formerly Eggar’s School. The Harry Marshall Film Award went to Alex Talberg, formerly Eggar’s School. The Erin Shee Award is presented to a student for recognition of their contribution to Sport Enrichment, this year it was won by Primrose Kavanagh, formerly Eggar’s School. The Joke Elson Award is in memory of its namesake, a teacher who championed Adult Basic Skills at the College. This year it was awarded to Will Bellamy, previously at Robert May’s School.

The final award was the Harvard Book Prize which was presented to the student who was considered to be ‘an outstanding student, academically excellent, with exceptional personal qualities, who makes a significant contribution to the College.’ Isabella Chalmers-Arnold, previously at Perins School, was awarded this prize.