Sports record breakers!

Alton College has enjoyed a record-breaking year as a third of the town’s sports awards were scooped up by current and former students.

PE teacher Dean Gillatt and students Brad Taylor, Joe Truman, Will Edwards and Sophie Hales all received awards for their sporting talent and commitment. Paul Johnson, who finished his A levels last summer, picked up the Senior Sportsman award.

Joe accepted the U18 Sportsman of the Year shield for his national success in indoor track cycling. He currently competes with the U18s GB squad and secured a place on the Olympic Development programme last year. Will came second in the category for his international and European success in team and individual karate events.

Sophie Hales was the town’s U18 Sportswoman of the Year following her successful archery career. She has recently been named U18 National Champion as well as Hampshire Champion.

The Senior Volunteer Male award went to Dean Gillatt for his coaching at Alton Handball Club.

The overall Sports Person of the Year award went to Brad Taylor, a keen bowler currently playing for the England U17s cricket team. His success will take him on tour to Sri Lanka later this year.

Jo Green, Curriculum Manager for Sport, said: “It’s a fantastic year for sport at Alton College as a number of our students achieve international success and begin journeys towards Olympic standards. They have all worked incredibly hard and thoroughly deserve the awards. I’d also like to personally congratulate Dean, who not only supports all our students to reach their sporting potential but also coaches handball voluntarily outside of college to encourage people of all ages and abilities to lead healthy and active lives.”

Alton College has a fully equipped fitness suite and sports hall which host a range of sports courses and enrichments. If you’re interested in studying sport, take a look at our Finding a Course pages to browse the A levels and BTEC Diplomas on offer.

Joe, Sophie, Brad, Dean and Paul will all be put forward for the East Hampshire Sports Awards and the Hampshire Sports Awards.